Dogs That Survive Cold Temperatures

This week we watched a video clip called “To Build a fire.” It was very interesting and this man was traveling in very cold snowing weather and along with him was a dog. I began to wonder if the dog was cold. I began to gather questions and research them.

My first question was “What breeds of dogs can survive cold temperatures?” After I researched that question I found that Akitas, German Shepherds, and Siberian Husky’s are some dogs that can survive the cold temperatures. My second question was “How long do those dogs live?” I learned that Akitas live 13-15 years, German Shepherds live 9-13 years, and Siberian Husky’s live about 12-15 years. My last question was “What makes the dogs able to stand the cold weather?” Because of the shape of their eyes Siberian Husky’s can squint to the point of barley exposing their eye. German Shepherds are northern dogs and very thick fur. Akitas LOVE the cold weather and have a very strong undercoat.

Those were some of the questions the video clip drove me to ask because i thought the dog was freezing. One part of the clip the dog stepped in frozen water that got stuck to his paw, the dog began to lick the ice off but the man rushed over and licked it off the dogs foot because the dogs tongue could have froze to his foot.

The questions I researched and the answers I found were very interesting. I did not have any trouble researching them. They answers came from very reliable sources. If you live in a cold place and/or want a pet it would better to research about that pet and its environment to keep it happy!

16 thoughts on “Dogs That Survive Cold Temperatures

  1. I like this blog because it will show someone what’s the right dog to pick if they want to bring them on a hike or a adventure.

    1. True. Siberian huskies are cool dogs. On a different blog, someone asked if huskies adapt with lighter coats in warmer weather. That’s a good question!

  2. Awesome Blog! facts about the siberian husky vs the akitas and explaining the advantages and disadvantages of these to dogs makes this blog very intresting to read very well done!

    1. This is a great example of offering support as a response. I had to look up what an akita looks like. Could you guess what country they’re bred it?

    1. I did some research and found that a german shepherd had been left outside in below zero degree weather and lapsed into a coma and was nearly frozen when discovered. Caesar (the dog) had been chained up for his entire life, and when rescued he was so week, the dog had to be carried in by a stretcher.

    1. It’s amazing how much a visual helps readers stay interested in a text. Without it, do you think most readers would read the entire piece — no matter how good it is?

      1. I think that the pictures catch the readers eye and if the picture looks interesting they want to read more about it.

  3. That article was great and you were wondering the same thing I was ” was that dog cold? “. The article you wrote answered my question what do species can survive in cold condition and why.

  4. So, your post explains why my part-German-Shepherd mix has so much fur and sheds so much of his undercoat. Great job getting this assignment done early so that it could be used as an example to other students. Theirs were better largely because they got to see other students’ like yours.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *